Direct Drive friendly haptics using G29 profile (aka how to match haptic sink to axis)

Talk about anything concerning the source code.
GeekyDeaks

Direct Drive friendly haptics using G29 profile (aka how to match haptic sink to axis)

Post by GeekyDeaks »

Hi all,

I am new to this, but keen to learn and currently working my way through the source, and was wondering if I could get a little bit of guidance from anyone more familiar with the code base.

I'd like to start playing around with a way to optionally dampen the forces as they approach the centre point, to see if it can reduce overcorrection oscillations with a DD wheel, and so far it seems that https://github.com/matlo/GIMX/blob/58d2 ... eaks.c#L22 would be a suitable place to do it. The bit I'm unsure of at present is how to get the position of the axis from within that function.

Am I looking in the right place?

Cheers,
Scott
GeekyDeaks

Re: Direct Drive friendly haptics using G29 profile (aka how to match haptic sink to axis)

Post by GeekyDeaks »

Digging a bit more... and using this thread to make some notes

Think I can copy the way the joystick_corrections_list defines the axis e.g. <event type="axis" id="2"/>, then pick that up with ProcessEventElement and pass it through to cfg_set_ffb_tweaks as entry.event.id
GeekyDeaks

Re: Direct Drive friendly haptics using G29 profile (aka how to match haptic sink to axis)

Post by GeekyDeaks »

Ok, making some good progress with this. I ended up making two changes to check the approach works:

First I exposed the address of the axis variable:

Code: Select all

void cfg_set_ffb_tweaks(const s_config_entry * entry)
{
  // determine the axis for the tweaks
  s_mapper* mapper = joystick_axes[entry->device.id][entry->controller_id][entry->profile_id].mappers;
  int axis = mapper->axis_props.axis;
  int *axis_address = &adapter_get(entry->controller_id)->axis[axis];